The Healthiest Oil On Earth – Coconut Oil

Coconut OilBefore my old blog vanished without a trace, I had written a nice long post about the benefits of coconut oil. In doing my research on it, I became fascinated with everything that this oil had to offer for not only the body and skin, but for your hair, stress relief, immunity, bone strength and more. Since none of my bath products are ever meant to be ingested, I’m going to focus on explaining some of the benefits for the outside of your body.

I created Ember Cove because I want everyone to look their best and have the healthiest skin possible regardless of their situation. Coconut oil has been quoted as “the healthiest oil on Earth” and is the base of choice for my soap and a great moisturizing addition to my lotions and lip balms. Its natural cures have benefited people worldwide for centuries. Wonderful and hypoallergenic, coconut oil contains many beneficial properties that make it an outstanding choice for any skin type. (It also produces a wonderful thick lather in my soap). The oil is unique to any other and I will explain the exact reason I chose it for my recipes.

First, we have its Saturated Fats. These are Triglycerides that keep your skin smooth to the touch by retaining moisture content, preventing it from drying out and making coconut oil a really powerful moisturizer. This has been known to delay wrinkles and help maintain a youthful appearance. By keeping your skin moisturized, it keeps it from peeling or flaking which may cause painful cracking and bleeding. Second, are more beneficial saturated fats – Capric Acid/Caprylic Acid/Lauric Acid. These three fatty acids have strong disinfectant and anti-microbial properties. When coconut oil is applied on skin infections, it forms a thin chemical layer which protects the area from external dust, fungi, bacteria and viruses. By using coconut oil as a base in my soaps, you can be sure to be providing any infected area with a clean wash as well as an amount of protection. Next we have Vitamin-E. The benefits of vitamin-E on skin are well known. It is essential for healthy skin growth, repair of scars and stretch marks, keeping skin smooth and preventing aging. Finally the proteins. Coconut oil is rich with wonderful proteins that help keep skin healthy and rejuvenated.

These powerful properties that make up Coconut Oil are so beneficial that I couldn’t pass up including them in my products. Like most of my ingredients, coconut oil also helpsCoconut Milk treat a vast amount of skin conditions and irritations such as eczema, dermatitis, dry skin, burns, infections, lice, rashes, wounds, topical effects of psoriasis – just to list a few. The antibacterial and soothing qualities make it a perfect addition to a soap for those struggling with acne as well. According to the Coconut Research Center, coconut oil also kills viruses that cause influenza, measles, hepatitis and more. To add to this, it is also effective on fungi and yeast that cause ringworm, athlete’s foot and diaper rash. Coconut oil is even effective on bruises as it speeds up the healing process by repairing damaged tissues.

Not only is this an amazing alternative to some pharmacy medications*, it smells amazing – and even more amazing when added to my bath products!

I do not make any hair products, but I know some people use my soap in their hair which contains coconut oil. Coconut oil is very nutritious for hair. Its essential proteins help in hair growth and re-growth of damaged follicles. This nourishes your hair while giving it a healthy and shiny complexion. It also helps ensure your head is free of dandruff, lice, and lice eggs, even if your scalp is dry. If you don’t want to wash your head with a bar of soap (which most people don’t), I strongly suggest finding a shampoo and conditioner with all natural coconut oil. I might try my hand at making a shampoo and conditioner combo some day with coconut oil, but I’m not going to worry about it at this moment.

CoconutsI’d be interested to hear about anyone’s experiences with coconut oil on their skin as well as the benefits internally. (please don’t ingest my products, I mean if you’ve ever had coconut oil in a food or drink). I don’t really care for the taste unless it’s mixed with something else, but I know it’s extremely healthy. What product would you be interested in trying if I made another with coconut oil?. Feel free to share! :)

*Remember – I am not a doctor and I will never claim to be one. My posts are not here to replace any medical advice given to you by any professional. If you experience any kind of irritation you need to stop use of the product immediately and consult an actual physician or dermatologist. Everyone is unique and only you are responsible to know what is beneficial and healthy for your skin.

A special thank you to some sources: Organic Facts, Care2, Coconut Connections, Earth Clinic, Acne.org,

7 thoughts on “The Healthiest Oil On Earth – Coconut Oil

  1. Pingback: Eczema – What is it? « Ember Cove

Leave a comment